How to Archive or Delete the User Record in Fedena?

how to archive or delete user record

Archive
The difference between archiving and deleting an employee or student record is – when you archive an employee or student record, the record moves from the active record list to the former record list. It does not delete the record from Fedena, so you can always find them later using the Advanced Search function. When you delete an employee or student record, all data associated with the record is removed. You cannot restore deleted records.

Who can archive and delete?

Only Fedena administrators and privileged employees can archive and delete employee and student records. For a privileged employee to be able to archive or delete employee records, either Manage Users or HR Basics privilege must be provided. Similarly, to be able to archive or delete student records, either Manage Users, or Admission, or Students Control privilege must be provided.

Archive or delete an employee record

When archiving or deleting an employee record, the following two options are available:

  • An employee leaving the institution – Use this option to archive and move the employee from the active employee list to the archived/former employee list.
  • Remove employee records – Use this option to delete all information associated with the employee. Once deleted, the employee record cannot be restored.

Note: You cannot delete an employee record that has dependencies—such as, subject association, part of a discussion group, and so on—in other Fedena modules. Unless the dependencies are removed, you cannot delete the employee record.

  1. Go to the employee’s profile. You can find the employee using the search bar at the top of your dashboard, or through the Manage Users page (Module access icon > Administration > User).
  2. When you find the employee, click on the employee’s name to view the employee’s complete profile.
  3. In the top right, click the Delete
1

The Remove employee page is displayed.
2

  1. If you want to archive the employee record, select the Employee leaving the institution You must specify the reason for the employee leaving, and then click the Delete button.
    3

If you want to permanently delete the employee record, select the Remove employee records option. A confirmation message is displayed. Click OK to confirm removal.

Archive or delete a student record

When archiving or deleting a student record, the following two options are available:

  • The student leaving institution – Use this option to archive and move the student from the active student list to the archived/former student list.
  • Remove student records – Use this option to delete all information associated with the student. Once deleted, the student record cannot be restored.

Note: Unlike employees, student records can be deleted even if the student has dependencies in other Fedena modules.

  1. Go to the student’s profile. You can find the student using the search bar at the top of your dashboard or through the Manage Users page (Module access icon > Administration > User).
  2. When you find the student, click on the student’s name to view the student’s complete profile.
  3. In the top right, click the Delete
    4

The Remove student page is displayed.
5

  1. If you want to archive the student record, select the Student leaving institution You must specify the reason for the student leaving and the leaving date, and then click the Delete button. 6

If you want to delete the student record, select the Remove student records option. A confirmation message is displayed. Click OK to confirm removal.

If the student has dependencies in other Fedena modules, a warning message similar to the image below is displayed.
7

If you still want to delete the student record, click the link.

Now that the student record is archived or deleted, you may be wondering what happens to the associated parent record. So here’s what happens:

  • If a student record is archived, the parent record is no more active. However, if the archived student is a sibling, the parent record will remain active.
  • If a student record is deleted, the parent record is also deleted. However, if the deleted student is a sibling, the parent record will not be deleted.

There are many reasons why an institution would want to archive an employee or student record in Fedena. It could be because the employee no longer works at the institution, or the student has moved to another school, but you want to keep their information in Fedena so you can access it at any time. Similarly, there are many reasons why an institution would want to delete an employee or student record permanently. It could be because a duplicate employee or student record was created, or a fictitious record was created when learning Fedena, or a record was created accidentally or with incorrect information.

Whatever the reasons may be, Fedena offers the flexibility either to archive the records or to delete the records permanently.

Share Button

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?